Back to the AZ Management front page
ACMA Newsletter Sponsors
Arizona Public Employers Health Pool
W.C. Scoutten, Inc.
Arizona Municipal Risk Retention Pool
ACMA Newsletter Advertising
Contact Amy Price at 602-258-5786 or
2013 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards Call for Nominations Announced
The Center for the Future of Arizona has announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2013 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, a statewide competition created to recognize non-elected public servants who serve as a critical link between citizens and the people elected to represent them.

The awards are named in honor of Gabrielle Giffords' director of community outreach who lost his life on Jan. 8, 2011, while serving the citizens of Arizona. Arizona-based public servants who are employed by cities and towns; counties; special districts; agencies of the executive and legislative branches of state governments; tribal governments; and staffs employed by members of the Arizona Congressional Delegation are eligible.

Awards will be presented in three categories including: leadership, innovation and civic engagement. The awards are an opportunity to showcase the commitment and dedication of more than 100,000 public servants working at all levels of government. All Arizona citizens are encouraged to make nominations. The deadline is June 17, 2013.

With support from the Zimmerman family, the 2013 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards are sponsored by the County Supervisors Association of Arizona (CSA), Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc., and the League of Arizona Cities and Towns. Honorees will be recognized at the 2013 League of Arizona Cities and Towns Annual Conference in August.

The 2012 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Award winners were David Byers, director of the Administrative Office of the Courts for the Arizona Supreme Court, for leadership; Doug Bartosh, city manager of Cottonwood, for civic engagement; and Michael Hemesath, director of public works for the city of Sierra Vista, for innovation.

To nominate a public servant for the 2013 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, visit

About The Center For The Future of Arizona
The Center for the Future of Arizona is an independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Its mission is to help Arizonans shape and define the future through an action-oriented agenda focused on contemporary issues and topics critical to the state. More than a think tank, the center is an independent "do tank" that combines public-policy research with collaborative partnerships and initiatives that will create new opportunities for all Arizonans.

For more information about The Arizona We Want Institute, the Five Communities Project and the Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, visit
Arizona City/County Management Association
1820 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007   •   Phone: (602) 258-5786   •   Fax: (602) 253-3874   •