Back to the AZ Management front page
ACMA Newsletter Sponsors
W.C. Scoutten
Arizona Municipal Risk Retention Pool
Arizona Public Employers Health Pool
ACMA Newsletter Advertising
Contact Samantha Womer at 602-258-5786 or
2014 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards Call for Nominations
The Center for the Future of Arizona has announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2014 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, a statewide competition created to recognize non-elected public servants who serve as a critical link between citizens and the people elected to represent them.

The awards are named in honor of Gabrielle Giffords' director of community outreach who lost his life on Jan. 8, 2011, while serving the citizens of Arizona. Arizona-based public servants who are employed by cities and towns; counties; special districts; agencies of the executive and legislative branches of state governments; tribal governments; and staffs employed by members of the Arizona Congressional Delegation are eligible.

Awards will be presented in three categories including: leadership, innovation, and civic engagement. The awards are an opportunity to showcase the commitment and dedication of more than 100,000 public servants working at all levels of government. All Arizona citizens are encouraged to make nominations. The deadline is Monday, July 14, 2014.

With support from the Zimmerman family, the 2014 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards are sponsored by the County Supervisors Association of Arizona (CSA), Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc., and the League of Arizona Cities and Towns. Honorees will be recognized at the 2014 League of Arizona Cities and Towns Annual Conference in August.

The 2013 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Award winners were Betsey Bayless, president and CEO of the Maricopa Integrated Health System, for leadership; Arlan Colton, planning director at Pima County Development Services, for civic engagement; and James Glen Jayne, manager of Navajo County, for innovation.

To nominate a public servant for the 2014 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, visit
Arizona City/County Management Association
1820 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007   •   Phone: (602) 258-5786   •   Fax: (602) 253-3874   •